Skip to content

The Return of Jane’s

June 8, 2011

There was never any doubt as to whether or not Perry Farrell had a great voice.  Nor was Dave Navarro’s song writing prowess and guitar playing ever second guessed.  Farrell was the voice of a generation (the same one that brought us Lolla), and Jane’s Addiction gave one swift kick in the balls to rock n roll.  The problem lay in them getting along and staying off drugs long enough to continue being creative.  There have been different reincarnations of the band over the last few years, but the creativity has never been as strong since the Ritual de lo Habitual album.  Their new album, The Great Escape Artist, could change all that.  If this first single is any sign of what’s ahead for the boys, then we might be in line to see a proper return to form for Jane’s Addiction.

This below is an excerpt from the Wiki page.  I thought it was worth sharing.

Jane’s Addiction-“End To The Lies”

Jane’s Addiction began writing The Great Escape Artist, shortly after founding bassist Eric Avery‘s departure in 2010, with vocalist Perry Farrell stating, “Eric did not want to record. So we took him out of the equation. We couldn’t live with not recording.”[8] Commenting on the relationship between the remaining three members of the band, Dave Navarro, Stephen Perkins and himself, Farrell stated: “Dave and Steve and I are like brothers. I’ve got children, and my kid smacked my other kid in the head this morning, but at the same time they hate being separated. On a plane one will say, ‘I wanna’ sit with my brother.’ That’s how I feel about Dave and Steve. I hope they’d tell you the same thing.”[8]

No comments yet

Leave a comment